About the Office

The office of the Provost was created in 1961, following a management study conducted for the University by Booz, Allen & Hamilton.  The forerunner of the position was that of the Dean of Administration, an office held by Gaston Bruton from 1951 to 1961. 

Former Provosts of the University
1. Gaston Swindell Bruton, 1961-1968
2. William Brunner Campbell, 1968-1973
3. Thad Norton Marsh, 1973-1977
4. Arthur McCluny Schaefer, 1977-1988
5. Frederick Hailey Croom, 1989-2001
6. Linda Bright Lankewicz, 2002-2011